Mark Antony - Running Successfully

Chandramukhi - From Sep 28th

Pyaar Prema Kaadhal Songs Review

Review Overview

High on Love
Dope Track
Hold Me Now
Surprise Me
Never Let Me Go
Let’s Be Friends?
Secret Window
Wake Me Up Every day
Miss You Papa
It’s Over

A chartbuster album from Yuvan Shankar Raja. Lovable music!

Pyaar Prema Kaadhal is an exquisitely spaced soundtrack that plays around with different genres to exhibit well-composed, enjoyable music. Yuvan stamps his class once again etching out a fantastic album with terrific repeat value written all over. The songs could have been named in Tamil in order to achieve better recall value, but that does not stop the quality of music that has been served on the table. Nothing more is required to bring this film attention.

Cast: Harish Kalyan, Raiza Wilson

Music: Yuvan Shankar Raja

Lyrics: Niranjan Bharathi, Mohanrajan, Vivek, Madhan Karky, Oviya Oommapathy, Devan, Elan

Direction: Elan

Label: U1 Records

High on Love: Singer – Sid Sriram

Everything goes right in the first number of the album, right from the sounds, synths and Sid Sriram’s rendition. There’s a superb flow in the music that makes the song so tough to get away from, drafting it as one of the most addictive numbers of the year and a surefire PICK.

Dope Track: Singer – Yuvan Shankar Raja

Yuvan once again proves how amazing a programmer he is, arranging his rise and drop at just the right moments. There’s something in it for both melody and the beat lovers; if you overlook some little blips there’s nothing to complain about. Another PICK.

Hold Me Now: Singers – Sanjith Hegde, Thurga

Sanjith Hegde is going places, there’s a totally different placard held up in his vocals that provide the track with a lot of air. Yuvan is in complete control of his EDM too, the synth in the interlude is from the top drawer. Hattrick of PICKS!

Surprise Me: Singers – Priya Mali, Yuvan Shankar Raja

Priya Mali’s vocals bring in an ecstatic mood to the song, which is slightly brought down after Yuvan’s entry. His unaltered vocals may be a slight turn off here, but the song’s orchestrations and interludes make this worth many listens. The PICKS continue.

Never Let Me Go: Singer – Suranjan, Shweta Pandit

Instantly feels like a throwback to Yuvan’s gem in Ninaithu Ninaithu Paarthen from 7G, this song is a slow poison with a rendition that has been handled differently. While Suranjan’s broken voice is Javed Ali-like, Shweta Pandit makes a return with a mesmerizing reach that deservingly gets her own version. Yet another PICK!

Hello: Singer – Devan Ekambaram

Devan Ekambaram is here with his jingle-styled number that may have a good intent in the film, but is underperforming right now.

Let’s Be Friends? : Singer – Cliffy Carlton

Got to give it to Yuvan for his interesting pick of singers, time and again. Let’s Be Friends sounds like a college-boy-band jam, with the ‘Oh Vennila’ hook working wonders. PICK, yes.

Secret Window: Singer – Al Rufian

This is easily one of the best songs of the year. Al Rufian’s Sufi influence arises the stretches and pauses that the song requires, with Yuvan’s minimalistic background beautifully stitching itself with the lyrics. Obviously, a PICK!

Wake Me Up Every day: Singer – Teejay Arunachalam

Teejay’s stylish vocals add an urban feel to this track, but the organization is functional at best. The song doesn’t stray away from the usual turns, and that acts against it.

Miss You Papa: Singer – Yuvan Shankar Raja, Priya Mali

A short track that stresses on the title value and plays accordingly.

It’s Over: Singer – Shweta Pandit

A slower version of ‘Wake Me Up Every day’, the track sung by Teejay. Short and sweet, to put it short.

Pyaar Prema Kaadhal Songs Review Rating: 4/5

Written By: Siddarth Srinivas