Monster Songs Review

Review Overview

Anthimaalai Neram
Theera Kadhal
Ennai Theadi
Oda Mudiyadhu

A good mix of lively and heartwarming numbers!

Justin Prabhakaran once again achieves the right mix of innovation and old-school music with Monster, a mostly pleasing soundtrack that balances the fun factor and the romantic angle. Anthimaalai Neram is easily the spearhead here, and should go on to swoon melody lovers in full.

Cast: SJ Suryah, Priya Bhavani Shankar

Music: Justin Prabhakaran

Lyrics: Yugabharathi, Karthik Netha, Sankar Doss, Justin Prabhakaran

Director: Nelson Venkatesan

Tabakkunu: Singer – Offir J. Rock

Justin Prabhakaran gets innovative with his very first track in the album, by adding a fresh twist to a usual composition by bringing in a singer from abroad. Even if you don’t quite like the pronunciations, you are sure to bind into the rhythm of the song, and especially its interludes.

Anthimaalai Neram: Singer – Sid Sriram

Sid Sriram just cannot go wrong, and this song gives him a fantastic acapella backdrop to bring out his expressive vocals on. There’s a lovely feeling that lingers throughout the song, be it the vocals or the music; taking us back to Ilaiyaraaja. Two consecutive winners in the album.

Theera Kadhal: Singer – Sathyaprakash

Sathyaprakash is excellent in his rightly stressed rendition that gives the song what it needs, but it’s the tune that doesn’t quite get registered on our minds easily and is too generic to give it extra attention.

Ennai Theadi: Singer – Sean Roldan

A lilting, soothing melody that believes in being simple and beautiful. Sean Roldan’s vocals are the right match to it.

Oda Mudiyadhu: Singer – SJ Suryah, Sivam

Despite its whacky orchestration and vocal arrangements which try to make it sound eccentric, this one misses the bus somewhere in between. Could be interesting with the visuals though!

Monster Songs Review Rating: 3.25/5

Click here to listen Monster Songs

Written By: Siddarth Srinivas

Related Posts