Gethu Songs Review

Review Overview

Thillu Mullu
Thaen Kaatru
Yevanda Ivan
Adiyae Adiyae
Mutta Bajji

Glossily packaged generic soundtrack!

Much in line with his usual template, Harris Jayaraj serves a commonplace album in Gethu. Even after a long break, the composer sticks to his book, making it a disappointing outing barring the first two songs. Coming from a worthy collaboration with Udhayanidhi Stalin, this is comparatively weaker stuff.

Cast: Udhayanidhi Stalin, Amy Jackson, Sathyaraj, Vikranth

Music: Harris Jayaraj

Director: Thiru Kumaran

Label: Red Giant Movies

Thillu Mullu: Singer – Naresh Iyer, Ranina Reddy 

Despite a slightly messed up setup, ThilluMullu is incredibly catchy thanks to the enthusiastic show that Naresh Iyer puts up. The free-flowing nature makes it our PICK!

ThaenKaatru: Singers – Haricharan, ShaashaTirupati 

All you need is two lovely singers and Harris’ trademark turnarounds to show the door to the familiarity. Over time, ThaenKaatru will stand out as a pleasant romantic track. Another PICK from the album.

Yevanda Ivan: Singers – MC Vickey, Sharmila 

The intent is good here. The instrumentation isn’t. One more to the list of the rap songs gone wrong in Harris’ discography, this time saved by Sharmila’s portions.

AdiyaeAdiyae: Singers – Karthik,Shamili 

A song so stuck up to the composer’s template that you will get tired of it within the first minute itself. What a bummer!

MuttaBajji: Singers – GanaVinoth, Anthony Dass, Marana GanaViji, Ebisa 

Passable gaanakuthu which has a threadbare hook with it. It is the comical lyrics which pick your attention at times.

Gethu Songs Review Rating: 2.75/5

Click here to listen Gethu Songs

Written By: Siddarth Srinivas