Adangathey Songs Review

Review Overview

Om Shiva Shiva Om
Nee Indri Naana
Nilavin Niramum Vannam
Nilathil Nadakkum
Celebration of a Love Failure

Effortlessly appealing melodies.

Adangathey is one of GV Prakash’s better albums in recent times. The composer finds a lot of variation in the melodic space, with Yaaradi being the topper. Harmlessly engaging music.

Cast: GV Prakash, Surbhi, Sarathkumar, Mandira Bedi

Music: GV Prakash

Direction: Shanmugam Muthusamy

Adangathey: Singer – Arunraja Kamaraj

A powerful title track with Arunraja Kamaraj in all his glory. GV Prakash picks up a good bag of synths and places it right despite the odd loud part. The Orakka Sol portion is a swag riot. Our PICK.

Yaaradi: Singer – Sathyaprakash

A complete string setup, without any form of computerizations is something we don’t always get to hear these and through Yaaradi – it gets done. Sathyaprakash is in good form, but the song’s highlights are the interludes which breathe in Ilayaraaja style. Our PICK.

Om Shiva Shiva Om: Singer – Vijay Prakash

A passable composition which could be useful in the narration of the film. Vijay Prakash brings back vibes of his Naan Kadavul track into this, and is very fluent with the Sanskrit lyrics too.

Nee Indri Naana: Singer – Sinduri Vishal

At first, it does sound like Saindhavi on the mic, but we later find out that it’s Sinduri Vishal. One of GV Prakash’s favorite fusion areas is the sufi-classical space, and this song falls into that. Very simple and soothing number.

Nilavin Niramum Vannam: Singer – Jothi

Great to GV Prakash to give Jothi an opportunity, and she makes superb use of it. A minimalistic stroll which is gentle on the ears.

Nilathil Nadakkum: Singer – Santhosh Venky

A male version of the above track sung by Santhosh of Super Singer fame. In terms of the rendition, it is quite heavier and sounds a little more complete. Our PICK.

Celebration of a Love Failure: Instrumental

An energetic musical number that merges a kuthu beat and a likable synth.

Adangathey Songs Review Rating: 3.25/5

Written By: Siddarth Srinivas